Harris, Medin Appointed to PSRS/PEERS Board by Governor

On August 10, 2016, Governor Jay Nixon announced two new appointments to the Public School and Education Employee Retirement Systems of Missouri (PSRS/PEERS) Board of Trustees. The governor has appointed Martha O. Harris and Ronald K. Medin, both of Jefferson City.

Harris is a retired life sciences teacher with the Jefferson City Public School District. She currently is a training coordinator for The Callaway Bank in Fulton, and also serves on the bank's board. Harris received a bachelor's degree in secondary education from the University of Missouri and master's degree in biology from the University of Illinois. Harris replaces Wayne Wheeler, who has served on the Board from 1996 to 2016, as both an elected and appointed trustee. Harris' appointed term ends June 30, 2021.

Medin is the general counsel and executive vice president of The Central Trust Bank/Central Bancompany Inc. His community involvement includes serving as a member of the city council of Jefferson City, as president of the Missouri River Regional Library Foundation and River City Habitat for Humanity. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri School of Law. Medin fills the vacant position on the Board. His appointed term ends June 30, 2017.

"The Board, management team and staff at PSRS/PEERS welcome Ms. Harris and Mr. Medin, and look forward to their contributions as appointed members of the Board. We also thank Mr. Wheeler for his long-standing commitment and service to the educators and education employees of this state," stated Steve Yoakum, PSRS/PEERS executive director. "Wayne is one of the finest Board members I have had the pleasure of working with during my career and he has served this Board with the highest of standards for the last 20 years."

Dr. Aaron Zalis, Board chair, concurred. "I look forward to working with both our new appointed trustees and the experience and background they bring to the Board. At the same time, I would like to recognize Mr. Wheeler for his dedicated service and wish him all the best in the future."

Missouri law requires both Harris' and Medin's appointments to be approved or "confirmed" by the Missouri Senate. The Senate considers appointments only when it is in session, which is generally January through May, or when the governor calls a special session. Appointments made when the Senate is in recess are subject to confirmation when the Senate reconvenes, but the appointee may commence service immediately.

About the PSRS/PEERS Board of Trustees

The seven-member Board of Trustees oversees the operation and administration of PSRS/PEERS. The function of the Board is to effectively collect contributions; prudently invest assets to obtain optimum returns; equitably provide benefits; and impartially and in accordance with applicable law administer the benefit program.

The Board is made up of one elected Public Education Employee Retirement System of Missouri (PEERS) member, three elected Public School Retirement System of Missouri (PSRS) members and three appointed trustees.

  • The four elected trustees are selected by vote of the members and retirees of both Systems. Two are elected each even-numbered calendar year to serve four-year terms.
  • The three appointed trustees, one of whom must be a PEERS or PSRS retiree, are named by the governor.
  • The appointed trustees must be residents of school districts included in the Retirement System, but not employees of such districts, or state employees or state elected officials.

Trustees serve without compensation but are reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred through Board service.