Zalis and Heath Retain Seats on PSRS/PEERS Board of Trustees

Incumbent Board members Dr. Aaron Zalis and Yvonne Heath, whose current terms on the Board end June 30, 2012, were the only individuals to file for two open Board seats. Since they were the only two candidates certified for the vacancies, they were automatically elected. Had other candidates filed, an election would have been held in April.

Individuals interested in running for these seats were asked to obtain petition forms from PSRS/PEERS and return them by February 17, 2012, along with 200 or more member signatures from each of any four Missouri congressional districts, plus sufficient additional signatures to total at least 1,000 signatures. All active and retired members of PSRS and PEERS are eligible to sign petitions and vote for candidates.

An auditing committee comprised of representatives of various Missouri educational associations examined the petitions February 24, and certified to the Board that the candidates were qualified. Both will begin their new, four-year terms on July 1, 2012, and serve through June 30, 2016.

Dr. Zalis, Superintendent for Rolla Public Schools, was first elected to the Board in September 2008. He has been a part of the Rolla district's administration since 1994, also serving as Deputy Superintendent for Human Resources and Support Services, Director of Human Resources and Assistant Principal of Rolla Middle School.

Yvonne Heath was first elected to the Board of Trustees effective July 1, 2008. She is originally from St. Louis and is currently a Special Educator in the Republic R-3 School District. Before teaching at Republic, she worked as a Special Education Paraprofessional in the Ash Grove R-4 School District.

News Archive