McClintic and Hoffman Re-Elected to the PSRS/PEERS Board of Trustees

Incumbent Board members Susan McClintic and Jason Hoffman, whose current terms on the Public School and Education Employee Retirement Systems of Missouri (PSRS/PEERS) Board of Trustees end June 30, 2014, were the only individuals to file for two open Board seats. Since they were the only two candidates certified for the vacancies, they were automatically elected. Had other candidates filed, an election would have been held in April.

Both will begin their new, four-year terms on July 1, 2014, and serve through June 30, 2018.

"The Board is very pleased that Jason and Susan have been elected to serve new four-year terms," says Dr. Aaron Zalis, Board chair "Their knowledge and experience continue to add value and help ensure retirement security for our members."

Susan McClintic, an educator for Columbia Public Schools, was first elected to the Board July 1, 2010. She has more than 23 years of teaching experience and currently serves as president of the Columbia Missouri National Education Association (MNEA). McClintic previously served on the board of directors of Susan G. Komen for the Cure and on the Rocheport Historical Society Board of Directors.

Jason Hoffman was also first elected to the Board of Trustees July 1, 2010. Hoffman is currently the chief financial officer for the Jefferson City Public School district. Previously, he served as business manager for both the Hallsville R-IV and Centralia R-VI school districts. Hoffman is a past president of the Missouri Association of School Business Officials (MoASBO).

The Board Election Process

Individuals interested in running for these Board seats were asked to obtain petition forms from PSRS/PEERS and return them by February 17, 2014, along with 200 or more member signatures from each of any four Missouri congressional districts, plus sufficient additional signatures to total at least 1,000. All active and retired members of PSRS and PEERS are eligible to sign petitions and vote for candidates.

An auditing committee comprised of representatives of various Missouri educational associations examined the petitions February 24, and certified to the Board that McClintic and Hoffman were qualified candidates.

Board Re-Elects Zalis Chair; Hoffman Vice-Chair

At the April Board of Trustees meeting, the Board demonstrated continued confidence in its current leadership. They re-elected Dr. Aaron Zalis, superintendent of Rolla Public Schools and an elected PSRS member, to serve as chair. The Board also re-elected Jason Hoffman, chief financial officer for the Jefferson City Public School district and an elected PEERS member, to serve as vice chair. Both will continue to serve in leadership positions for the school year beginning July 1, 2014 and ending June 30, 2015.